Valencia Marathon: a record-breaking edition

Back to Blog

Valencia Marathon: a record-breaking edition

This is the story of a legendary sports competition that is forever developing and that turns the city of Valencia into the perfect scenery for the runners as well as for their supporters. The 2019 edition is once again breaking new records: 25 000 athletes are expected, thus making this 29th marathon the biggest one that has ever taken place in Spain.

The marathon bibs, which were put on sale as soon as the 2018 edition ended, are already sold out, forcing the organizers to create a waiting list in case of dropouts.

On this Sunday 1st of December, a record-breaking number of runners will thrust forward from the Monteolivete Bridge. A great number of them come from all over the world: 40% of the participants are foreigners. It is worth taking note of the fact that women are very poorly represented as there are only 17% of feminine participants.

With 2000 French runners, France has a good contingent this year and, actually, for the first time, the Franco-Spanish Chamber of Commerce, the French High School and the French Institute organize a meeting point for the most “chauvinists” who wish to support their compatriots! The meeting is planned on Avenida Navarro Reverter N°12 at 10am.

If for some runners, the goal is to beat their record, for others, it is actually finishing the long 42km-marathon, that is at stake.The Fondación  Trinidad Alfonso Marathon is also a major popular, international and touristico-economic event for Valencia: it has undoubtedly become,one of the most powerful communication and marketing touristic tools for the city.

It is indeed hard to precisely estimate the amount spent by the runners and their families on site and the impacts concerning the communication; yet it is evident that this event displays internationally the image of a dynamic, beautiful, modern and welcoming city, which is exactly what Valencia is.

If the New York marathon is the most prestigious in the world, generating almost 300 000 million euros and the Paris marathon almost 50 million euros, we can estimate that Valencia’s marathon is close to generating 15 million euros… A real little jackpot for the hotel industry and others.. For those who would like to see what this marathon looks like, here is a glimpse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=25&v=jQvXd4oBRHQ&feature=emb_logo

L a u r e n c e    L e m o i n e

Share this post

Back to Blog

Marathon de Valencia : une édition record

Back to Blog

Marathon de Valencia : une édition record

C’est l’histoire d’une épreuve sportive mythique qui ne cesse de se développer et qui convertit la ville de Valencia en décor parfait aussi bien pour les coureurs que pour leurs accompagnants. Cette édition 2019 est une fois de plus un record puisque 25 000 athlètes sont attendus, faisant de ce 29em Marathon, le plus grand d’Espagne. Les dossards mis en vente à peine l’édition 2018 terminé, ont été tous vendus, obligeant les organisateurs à créer une liste d’attente en cas de désistement.

 

Ce dimanche 1er décembre, un nombre record donc de coureurs s’élancera depuis le Pont Monteolivete, dont grande partie venue des quatre coins du monde puisque près de 40 % des participants sont étrangers. À noter que la gente féminine est largement sous représentée puisque seulement 17 % du total des participants sont des femmes.

 

Avec 2 181 coureurs français inscrits, la France compte un bon contingent et cette année d’ailleurs, pour la première fois, la Chambre de Commerce Franco-Espagnol, le Lycée et l’Institut Français organisent un point de rencontre pour les plus “chauvinistes” qui veulent soutenir leurs compatriotes ! Le rendez-vous est prévu Avenida Navarro Reverter 12 à partir de 10h. Les Italiens sont les etrangers les plus nombreux avec 2 332 courreurs et la Grande Bretagne est apres la France le troisième pays en nombre de participants (1 196).

 

Si l’enjeu sportif et humain pour certains, est de battre un record ou pour d’autres, de terminer en entier cette longue épreuve de 42 kilomètres, le marathon Fondación Trinidad Alfonso est aussi un événement populaire, international et touristico-économique majeur pour Valencia : c’est d’ailleurs devenu, sans aucun doute, l’outil de communication et marketing touristique le plus puissant qui soit pour la ville.
Il est bien entendu difficile de faire une estimation précise des dépenses générées par les coureurs et leurs familles sur place et des retombées en termes de communication, mais force est de constater que cet événement projette au niveau international une image de ville dynamique, belle, moderne et accueillante: c’est d’ailleurs exactement ce qu’elle est.
Si le Marathon de New York, le plus prestigieux au monde, génère près de 300 millions d’euros de retombées économiques, celui de Paris autour de 50 millions d’euros, on peut penser que celui de Valencia n’est pas loin des 15 millions… Un vrai petit jack-pot pour le secteur hôtelier entre autres. Pour ceux qui voudraient voir en image ce que représente ce marathon voici une vidéo qui donne un avant goût : https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=25&v=jQvXd4oBRHQ&feature=emb_logo

 

L a u r e n c e    L e m o i n e

Share this post

Back to Blog