Spain closed to domestic tourism and opens to Europeans.

Back to Blog

Spain closed to domestic tourism and opens to Europeans.

The paradox of health measures: it is complicated to go from Valencia to Madrid or Barcelona, but very easy to go from Paris, London or Berlin to SevillaValencia or Alicante.

The tourist sector is undoubtedly the one that has suffered the most from the pandemic, with a large number of restrictive measures still in force. The prospect of the Easter holidays is stirring people’s minds, but the Spanish regions are maintaining a firm and concerted position, and it will not be possible to leave one’s region to take a holiday in another comunidad. On the other hand, the intra-European borders remain open: it is therefore possible to leave or enter Spain with a negative PCR test and the famous QR code filled in.

There are several reasons for this contradictionlinked to the power struggle between the government and the 17 autonomous regions: in March 2020, the central power took control of the management of the pandemic, and later Pedro Sánchez’s executive delegated this responsibility to the regions. This allowed some of them to close their borders for a while, preventing travel between them, with some exceptions, such as the Canary Islands, which allowed visits from the peninsula with a negative coronavirus test. But the autonomous regions do not have the power to refuse entry to an European visitor.

For this, it is Spain (Madrid) that would have to notify the closure of its borders, an extreme that has not occurred except between March and June 2019 and since last December for non-essential travel from the UK and non-EU countries. The only requirement for travellers arriving by air or sea is the presentation of a negative PCR (and this is not even mandatory for road trips entering Spain.). In other words, if a French or German person arrives at Palma, Valencia or Malaga airport, there is nothing that can stop them. Only their home country can do that, and in generalEU countries have not really imposed any restrictions, although travellers are advised to seriously limit leisure travel.
Between the vaccination campaigns, the Easter holidays and the arrival of the good weather, tourism professionals are hoping to attract at least a few European tourists before a return to normalcy, which they hope to see as soon as possible.

Share this post

Back to Blog

L’Espagne fermée au tourisme national, ouverte aux Européens

Back to Blog

L’Espagne fermée au tourisme national, ouverte aux Européens

Paradoxe des mesures sanitaires : il est compliqué d’aller de Valencia à Madrid ou Barcelone, mais très facile de se rendre de Paris, Londres ou Berlin à Séville, Valencia ou Alicante.

Le secteur touristique est sans doute celui qui a le plus souffert de la pandémie avec toujours en vigueur, un grand nombre de mesures restrictives. La perspective des vacances de Pâques agite les esprits, mais les régions espagnoles maintiennent une position ferme et concertée, et l’on ne pourra pas sortir de sa région pour prendre des vacances dans une autre comunidad. Par contre, les frontières intra-européennes restent toujours ouvertes : il est donc possible de sortir d’Espagne ou d’y entrer, avec un test PCR négatif et le fameux code QR remplit. 

Cette contradiction s’explique par plusieurs raisons liées au bras de fer qui s’est joué entre le gouvernement et les 17 régions autonomes : en mars 2020, le pouvoir central a pris le contrôle de la gestion de la pandémie, puis plus tard, l’exécutif de Pedro Sánchez a délégué cette responsabilité aux régions. Cela a permis à certaines d’entre elle de fermer leurs frontières pendant un certain temps, empêchant les déplacements entre elles, à quelques exceptions près, comme les îles Canaries qui ont autorisé les visites depuis la péninsule avec un test coronavirus négatif. Mais les régions autonomes n’ont pas le pouvoir de refuser l’entrée à un visiteur européen.
Pour cela, c’est l’Espagne (Madrid) qui devrait notifier la fermeture de ses frontières, un extrême qui ne s’est pas produit, sauf entre mars et juin 2019 et depuis décembre dernier pour les voyages non-essentiels en provenance du Royaume-Uni et des pays tiers hors de l’UE. La seule exigence pour les voyageurs arrivant par avion ou par bateau est la présentation d’un PCR négatif (et cela n’est même pas obligatoire pour les voyages par route entrant en Espagne). En d’autres termes, si un Français ou un Allemand arrive à l’aéroport de Palma, de Valencia ou Malaga, aucune mesure ne peut l’en empêcher. Seul son pays d’origine peut le faire et d’une manière générale, les pays de l’Union européenne n’ont pas vraiment imposé de restrictions même si les voyageurs sont invités à limiter sérieusement les voyages d’agrément.
Entre les campagnes de vaccination, les vacances de Pâques et l’arrivée des beaux jours, les professionnels du tourisme espèrent au moins attirer quelques touristes européens avant un retour à la normale qu’ils espèrent le plus tôt possible.

Article publié ici

valencia-expat-services.com/

javea-denia-expat-services.com

Share this post

Back to Blog