Rentals, mortgages and credits: the new economic measures taken by the government

Back to Blog

Rentals, mortgages and credits: the new economic measures taken by the government

 

 

 

 

The Spanish Government has approved this week a new specific package of measures to try to minimize the negative effects of the coronavirus.

 

Already last week the launch of a series of financial aids was announced to support SMEs and the self-employed in the midst of the health crisis.

 

In this new Royal Decree-Law 11/2020, of March 31, the Council of Ministers implements new measures or updates some already started with a series of new bonuses especially aimed for small businesses and the self-employed, families, consumers and people in fragile economic situations.

 

Here are the main measures for paying rent for vulnerable people:

 

  • For six months from the beginning of  forced  State of Alarm all evictions are suspended.
  • The automatic renewal of rental contracts that expire within three months of the beginning of  this established rule  (April 2, 2020). This extension will be for six months and the terms and conditions of the contract in vigor will be maintained.
  • An automatic moratorium on the payment of rent is established for those tenants in vulnerable situations whose landlord is a large holder of housing, both public and private (in general, anyone who owns more than ten properties is understood as such)
  • The moratorium on the payment of the rent will be prolonged while the state of alarm lasts or while the situation of vulnerability persists, with a maximum of four months. Once this situation is overcome, the tenant will return the unpaid fee or fees over a period not exceeding three years, without any type of penalty or interest being applied.
  • A moratorium on rent payment is established for vulnerable tenants whose landlord is not a large holder of housing. The tenant may request a deferment in the payment of their rent. The lessor will have seven days to accept it, propose an alternative or reject it.

In the event that there is no agreement, the tenant will have access to a program of transitional financing aids at zero cost with the guarantee of the State. The tenant may request a finalist credit, directly paid to the lessor, for an amount of up to six monthly rents, to be returned within a maximum period of ten years. This credit will have no interest, it will be granted by credit institutions and will have the endorsement of the State, through the Official Credit Institute (ICO), which will sign the corresponding agreement with the Ministry of Transport, Mobility and Urban Agenda.

 

– The norm incorporates a specific program for victims of gender violence, homeless people and others who are especially vulnerable, in order to provide them with an immediate housing solution.

 

With regard to measures to support the payment of mortgages or consumer loans, the most important measures are the following:

 

  • A suspension period of three months is established.
  • Suspended fees are not paid at the end of the suspension, but all the remaining payments are postponed for the duration of the suspension. The self-employed can also benefit from this moratorium.
  •  A moratorium is also established on non-mortgage loans and credits that keep people in vulnerable situations, including consumer loans.

Last of all  you must know that the coronavirus does not stop the 2019 income campaign: from yesterday (April 1) and until June 30 the draft of the personal income tax declaration must be presented.

Share this post

Back to Blog

Loyers, hypothèques et crédits : les nouvelles mesures économiques prises par le gouvernement 

Back to Blog

Loyers, hypothèques et crédits : les nouvelles mesures économiques prises par le gouvernement 

 

Le gouvernement espagnol a approuvé cette semaine un nouvel ensemble spécifique de mesures visant à minimiser les effets négatifs du coronavirus.
La semaine dernière, déjà, le lancement d’une série d’aides financières a été annoncé pour soutenir les PME et les travailleurs indépendants (autonomos) en pleine crise sanitaire.
Dans ce nouveau décret-loi Royal, 11/2020, du 31 mars, le Conseil des ministres met en œuvre de nouvelles mesures ou actualise certaines déjà annoncées avec une série de nouvelles dispositions spécialement destinées aux petites entreprises et aux indépendants, aux familles, aux consommateurs et aux personnes en situation économique fragile.

Voici les principales mesures concernant le payement des loyers de personnes vulnérables :

  • Pendant six mois à compter de l’entrée en vigueur de l’état d’alarme, les expulsions sont suspendues
  • Renouvellement automatique des contrats de location qui expirent dans les trois mois suivant l’entrée en vigueur de cette règle est établi (2 avril 2020). Cette prolongation sera de six mois et les termes et conditions du contrat en vigueur seront maintenus
  • Un moratoire automatique sur le paiement du loyer est établi pour les locataires en situation vulnérable dont le propriétaire est un grand détenteur de logements, publics et privés (en général, toute personne qui possède plus de dix propriétés est considérée comme telle)
  • Le moratoire sur le paiement du loyer sera prolongé tant que l’état d’alarme dure ou tant que la situation de vulnérabilité persiste, avec un maximum de quatre mois. Une fois cette situation surmontée, le locataire restituera le ou les frais impayés sur une période n’excédant pas trois ans, sans qu’aucune pénalité ou intérêt ne soit appliqué.
  • Un moratoire sur le paiement du loyer est instauré pour les locataires vulnérables dont le propriétaire n’est pas un grand détenteur de logements.
  • Le locataire peut demander un ajournement du paiement de son loyer. Le bailleur disposera de sept jours pour l’accepter, proposer une alternative ou la rejeter.

En cas d’absence d’accord, le locataire aura accès à un programme d’aides transitoires de financement à coût nul avec la garantie de l’Etat. Le locataire peut demander un crédit, payé directement au bailleur, d’un montant maximum de six mois de loyer, à restituer dans un délai maximum de dix ans. Ce crédit n’aura aucun intérêt, il sera accordé par les établissements de crédit et aura l’aval de l’État, par le biais de l’Institut officiel du Crédit (ICO).

Les nouvelles mesures intègrent un programme spécifique pour les victimes de violence domestique, les sans-abris et les personnes particulièrement vulnérables, afin de leur fournir une solution de logement immédiate.

En ce qui concerne les mesures concernant le paiement des hypothèques ou des crédits à la consommation, les plus notables sont les suivantes :

  • Une période de suspension de trois mois est établie.

Les sommes impayées ne sont pas à payés à la fin de la suspension, mais sont reportés pour la durée de la suspension. Les autonomes peuvent également bénéficier de ce moratoire.
Un moratoire est également établi pour les prêts et crédits non-hypothécaires de personnes en situation précaire, y compris les prêts à la consommation.

Enfin, sachez que le coronavirus n’arrête pas la campagne de revenus 2019 : depuis hier (1er avril) et jusqu’au 30 juin le projet de déclaration de revenus (IRPF: Impuesto sobre la Renta de las personas Físicas) doit être présenté à Hacienda.
Bon courage à tous !

Share this post

Back to Blog